Too Bored to Stop Listening: A review of Nora Ephron’s Heartburn. Read by Meryl Streep

heartburnRecently, I drove to eastern Kansas by myself to visit family, and in preparation I picked up an audiobook to try to ease the pain of an 8 hour drive through the very plain and very boring landscape. Because it has been a reeeaaalllly long time since I listened to an audiobook I did some searching online to look for something that had great reviews.

And let me tell you, you can’t always count on reviews!

I was super excited that Meryl Streep was going to be reading this book. She’s a fantastic actress so I figured there was no way this could be bad.

But as it turns out, I was very wrong.

Based on the reviews and the summary of the book, I thought I was going to be listening to a heartfelt yet hilarious story about a pregnant woman who is dealing with her husband cheating on her. Nope. Not heartfelt and definitely not funny. Rather, I found myself getting extremely annoyed by the main character. She kept contradicting herself. One moment she would refer to herself as a strong woman who never cries. Then the next minute, she would be completely whiney and submissive. This could have simply been the way Streep read the story, though. Because I believe that it’s possible to read some of the character’s lines a little differently, in a way that would give her more oomph.

I also disliked the way the story jumped around. One minute we would be listening to the author’s inner dialogue and the next we would be hearing about how she and her husband had met their friends. I don’t mind a little back-story, but please make sure it’s relevant. There’s no point in wasting anyone’s time over frivolous details.

It may be surprising to some of you, but I had no idea that this had been made into a movie in the ’80s. And yep, it starred Meryl Streep (and Jack Nicholson).So please, let me know how the movie fared and if you have any opinions on it. Should I even bother watching it?

Overall, this audiobook gave me heartburn. If I had not been on an incredibly boring drive, I probably would have stopped listening to this and instead listened to the sound of my car’s tires on the road. But an 8 hour drive is daunting and I tricked myself into listening to the entire 5.5 hours of this book being read aloud. If nothing else, it gave me the opportunity to post my first review on this blog.

And as I mentioned earlier, you can’t always count on reviews. So give the book a try and let us know what you think.

Click on this link to place a hold on the book or the audiobook

Heartburn

-SR Johnson

One thought on “Too Bored to Stop Listening: A review of Nora Ephron’s Heartburn. Read by Meryl Streep

  1. Denise says:

    I read this book in the 80s and loved it. (I am a huge Nora Ephron fan).

    I would agree with you that sometimes the reader makes or breaks the story. I might have to check this audiobook out and see if the story stands the test of time.

    I enjoyed the movie too and it featured one of the best tunes produced by Carly Simon – “Coming around again.” Take a listen!

Leave a Reply

