Music Review: Lights Out by Ingrid Michaelson

 

71VV-kAvR4L__SL1500_.rLights Out by folky/indie, singer/songwriter Ingrid Michaelson took me completely by surprise; this is not the type of music that I normally listen to. But it snuck up on me with its infectious, catchy beats and joyous, heartfelt lyrics.

Much pop music is vapid, forgettable, and ultimately disposable. Not so with Lights Out, which has an ear-worm quality, but in a good way. The songs play in my head even when I’m not listening to the album itself.

My first introduction to Michaelson’s music was from the above video.  The video is truly a wry homage to Robert Palmers “Simply Irresistible” which I remember fondly from my college days. I like Michaelson’s twist on Palmer’s stylized models.

The song itself is very catchy as well and led me to investigate more of Michaelson’s music, most of which is available for streaming on YouTube. Kudos to her for allowing people to listen to her music before purchasing it. Her music stands on its own and it seems to me that she is confident enough in it to let listeners listen first and then pay for it later.

Other standout songs from Lights Out are “Wonderful Unknown,” “One Night Town,” “Over You,” and “Everyone Is Gonna Love Me Now. ”

Click on the following link to place a hold:

Lights Out

Give it a listen if you  like infectious, catchy pop music which is more complex than it appears on the surface.

Skip it if you don’t want these catchy songs playing in your head even when you’re not listening to them.

-Steve

Leave a Reply

